Sharing SMILES


Earlier this year, I wanted to find a way to express my gratitude to a woman at a local business that had the warmest greetings when I would stop in. I don’t know anything about her except her name and where she works. I had an idea to send her a hand stamped card telling her how much I enjoyed coming into that business because she went out of her way to make me feel like an appreciated customer.
I shared this story with my chapter and told them I would like to start a campaign to acknowledge outstanding women in our community that make this a great place to live and work. After some brain storming, an acronym was developed and the S.M.I.L.E. campaign began. Simple Moments Influence Lives Everywhere.
I look for excuses to spend time making cards and this was just the ticket I needed. After a quick personal message was written inside the card, an insert was put in each card explaining our campaign and the back talked about the Women of Today organization.
To date, our chapter has mailed over 50 cards out sharing smiles with deserving woman. There was a quote that we shared on our Facebook page that sums up why I enjoyed this project. “When you see something beautiful in someone, tell them. It may take a second to say, but for them it could last a lifetime.”

If you would like to nominate a deserving woman for this card, send our group an email at: fairmontwt@mnwt.org

Sue Bay

Leave a comment